Urban Basics

Getting back to basics in an urban setting

We can have chickens!

Leave a comment

420We just found out that we can have 6 hens. The ordinance says that on our .39 of an acre we can have 6 hens but no roosters. I don’t mind that at all! The only bummer is that we cant have more hens. So my husband and our friend Rob are building the coop right now. This is how far they have gotten so far.  More pictures to come!!

Can you tell I am excited?

Author: stephdt3

My 3 children and I live on 14 acres in Savannah Ga. I have worked hard at turning the property into a thriving, self sufficient homestead. It has been a learning experience and a lot of hard work but its so worth it. I don't understand how our country became so consumer driven. We have lost so much of our production way of life. It is my goal to get back to basics any way that I can. My three children used be so hooked on TV, video games, computers, iphones and ipads. And while they still like those things, they now spend just as much time outside as they do inside. I hope by learning to raise chickens and rabbits, growing gardens, raising goats and riding horses and spending more time outdoors in general, my children will learn to love and appreciate a simpler way of life. I knew nothing about homesteading when I started this journey but I have learned so much and love every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

