Urban Basics

Getting back to basics in an urban setting

The LDS Cannery

Leave a comment

My husband and I went to the Latter-Day Saints Home storage center this weekend. It was our first time going to the cannery. It was a lot of fun.
There are many companies out there today that offer freeze dried or dehydrated foods that are great for long term food storage. I recently found Thrive… food offered by Shelf Reliance. I have ordered a few things from them to try but they are very expensive. After going to the LDS Cannery, I only plan to get items from Thrive that I can not get from the LDS Cannery. Canning in #10 size cans and doing the work yourself offers huge discounts on dehydrated and dried goods. Chris and I had planned on getting just a few things when we went this weekend…. and let me just say, we got way more cans then we had planned on!!
I think Chris was surprised at how much fun it was and the food is so much cheaper doing it this way! We ended up with 25 cans of #10 sized cans of dried goods. The best thing about these cans is that the shelf life is 30 years!
We are eating the dried apples like potato chips. We eat them dry right out of the can. They are really good. I was told that these dried apples re-constitute in water and make a great apple pie. I cant wait to try that!
I can get an average of 4 #10 size cans through the Thrive catalog for around $100 dollars. Chris and I spent $122 for 25 #10 size cans. The down size is that there is not a lot of variety at the LDS Cannery.
SO we plan to stock up on all the items they offer and get the rest through Thrive so that we have a variety of long term food storage. I encourage everyone to stock up on canned and dried goods!

Author: stephdt3

My 3 children and I live on 14 acres in Savannah Ga. I have worked hard at turning the property into a thriving, self sufficient homestead. It has been a learning experience and a lot of hard work but its so worth it. I don't understand how our country became so consumer driven. We have lost so much of our production way of life. It is my goal to get back to basics any way that I can. My three children used be so hooked on TV, video games, computers, iphones and ipads. And while they still like those things, they now spend just as much time outside as they do inside. I hope by learning to raise chickens and rabbits, growing gardens, raising goats and riding horses and spending more time outdoors in general, my children will learn to love and appreciate a simpler way of life. I knew nothing about homesteading when I started this journey but I have learned so much and love every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

