Urban Basics

Getting back to basics in an urban setting

Are you a prepper?

3 Comments

I remember the first time I was called a prepper. I didn’t know there was a name for what I was. I never thought about it before. I had a big garden in my yard and I was learning to can or dehydrate what we couldn’t use right away. We built a chicken coop so we could have eggs but also for the manure the chickens provide for my organic garden. I liked to coupon shop and stocked up when items were on sale. With my coupons I got quite a bit for free! Free is a very good price. I cant pass up free so, of course I would get as many as I could. To me, this was all perfectly normal things to do. Lots of people have gardens and lots of people use coupons when shopping. I am in no way extreme in any of these areas. To me, these are hobbies or a way to save my family money.

My brother came to visit me from Tacoma, Washington with his girlfriend. I proudly showed him my garden and my small shelf of items I got while couponing. As I gave him a tour of my humble little home, I showed off the laundry detergent and bars of hand soap I made myself.
We talked about current economic issues and the instability of our country. I had no idea that he was worried about economic times or that my father, who also lives in Washington was equally as worried. I didn’t know that people all over the country were starting to stock up on food, goods, and guns. I didn’t know there was a name for this.

My brother returned home to Washington and not long after my dad called me. He told me that he was talking to my brother and learned something he didn’t know about me. I think to myself…uh oh… what could that possible be?
I asked what did he learn? I was very curious! He said I was a prepper. Hmm.. a prepper? What is a prepper I asked? He proceeded to talk about stocking up and getting back to basics and learning self sufficiency. He talked about canning and making soap and raising animals.
If this is what a prepper is, then Yes, I am wholeheartedly a prepper!
Now that I knew there was a name for what I am, I went in search for others who also feel the need to get back to basics. I was amazed at what I found. There is a massive community of other preppers that is growing by the day.

Are you a prepper?

Here is an article that helps anyone new to building a stock pile and getting back to basics or becoming more prepared. I am adding the link below. This article talks about prepping for any type of emergency and links all the best websites that you can go to learn more. I have been on a lot of these during my own web search but there are many on this list that I have not been to yet.

http://www.shtfplan.com/emergency-preparedness/rise-of-the-preppers-50-of-the-best-prepper-websites-and-blogs-on-the-internet_02012013

If long term storage is something that interests you, Id like to add a few more companies to look into:

Shelf Reliance offers 30 year shelf life freeze dried food called Thrive
The LDS Cannery’s offer dehydrated foods you can prepare yourself and store in #10 sized cans. Contact your local LDS to find your closest cannery
Mountain House foods.
There are many more. These are just a few that I am familiar with.

Happy Prepping!

Author: stephdt3

My 3 children and I live on 14 acres in Savannah Ga. I have worked hard at turning the property into a thriving, self sufficient homestead. It has been a learning experience and a lot of hard work but its so worth it. I don't understand how our country became so consumer driven. We have lost so much of our production way of life. It is my goal to get back to basics any way that I can. My three children used be so hooked on TV, video games, computers, iphones and ipads. And while they still like those things, they now spend just as much time outside as they do inside. I hope by learning to raise chickens and rabbits, growing gardens, raising goats and riding horses and spending more time outdoors in general, my children will learn to love and appreciate a simpler way of life. I knew nothing about homesteading when I started this journey but I have learned so much and love every minute of it.

3 thoughts on “Are you a prepper?

  1. What part of Nashville??
    I lived in Robertson County for 57 years and moved to Logan County, Ky.

  2. We live in West Nashville. The Bellvue area. We are in Davidson County and live about 20 minutes from downtown Nashville. It has been a challenge being self reliant in the suburbs!

  3. I can only imagine..have always been a country girl. Am in a little suburb now, and looking for an acre or two in the country–the real country.
    I am the only prepper here and wish to move due to OPSEC.

Leave a Reply

