Urban Basics

Getting back to basics in an urban setting

Rabbits Everywhere!

Leave a comment

I sold three of the four rabbits out of Willow’s first litter. She was re-bred on January 24th so we should have a new litter of cute little fuzzy bunnies this weekend! OK…. maybe not so fuzzy. Rabbits are born with no fur. They more closely resemble little rats. LOL But the good thing is they start growing their fur right away and within about 5 days, I will be able to see their color pattern pretty well. This is Willow’s second litter. I kept a Magpie doe from her first litter that I adore. We named her Oreo. When she is old enough to breed. I will find her a mate. As of right now, the only buck I have is her sire Charlie.
Today, I have a new 4.5 month old doe coming to join our rabbit family from Knoxville TN. A new rabbit friend is bringing her from her own Rabbitary. She will be my third doe. I am very excited to play with the new bunny today. I will be able to breed her in a few months. I also have two more does coming to me from Louisiana on March 30th. I’m still working out details with the breeder and the transporter. One is the same age as my Magpie Oreo and the other is a few months older. This will give me a two sets of breeding trios. I will be working on getting a Magpie buck for my two Magpie does sometime this summer.
I have bunnies everywhere!

Author: stephdt3

My 3 children and I live on 14 acres in Savannah Ga. I have worked hard at turning the property into a thriving, self sufficient homestead. It has been a learning experience and a lot of hard work but its so worth it. I don't understand how our country became so consumer driven. We have lost so much of our production way of life. It is my goal to get back to basics any way that I can. My three children used be so hooked on TV, video games, computers, iphones and ipads. And while they still like those things, they now spend just as much time outside as they do inside. I hope by learning to raise chickens and rabbits, growing gardens, raising goats and riding horses and spending more time outdoors in general, my children will learn to love and appreciate a simpler way of life. I knew nothing about homesteading when I started this journey but I have learned so much and love every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

