Urban Basics

Getting back to basics in an urban setting

We have arrived in Savannah Georgia!!

Leave a comment

Let me tell you… moving to a house sight unseen is scary! I found the rental on craigslist and had my husband (who was already in Georgia working) go look at it. 14 acres and 500 sq feet bigger then the house we were in plus a 8 stall barn….. the house would have to be falling apart for us not to take it! The pictures of the home and land were nice and my husband said it was perfect for what we were looking for. So we signed the lease and paid deposits and the place was ours!
I packed up our whole house while Chris was working in Savannah. He flew back to Nashville on moving day and we rented the biggest U-haul truck they had.. plus the biggest trailer. It was crazy and busy and hot! We had friends and family help us load the truck and we got it done sooner then expected.
Let me just say…. 7 chickens, 20 baby chicks, 11 rabbits, 3 kids and 1 cat all in my mini-van for a ten hour drive…. STINKY!!
That was one drive I hope to never do again! We even moved our chicken coop and all of my plants.
But we are here now! The house is great and I can see us happy hear for a long time. But the land… holy cow do we have some work to do! The pasture grass is taller then I am! I worry about the snakes so I haven’t let the kids out there a lot yet. But we are working on it as we get settled in. I thought it was hot in Nashville…. NOT! I can hardly breath outside during the day! But we work on the yard a little at a time. It would be easier to get everything cleared and mowed if we didn’t have 4 inches of standing water everywhere! The rain just wont stop!! Everyone tells me that this is not normal and that It shouldn’t be this bad all the time. I’m still waiting to see dry ground so the jury is still out!
We have arrived!

Author: stephdt3

My 3 children and I live on 14 acres in Savannah Ga. I have worked hard at turning the property into a thriving, self sufficient homestead. It has been a learning experience and a lot of hard work but its so worth it. I don't understand how our country became so consumer driven. We have lost so much of our production way of life. It is my goal to get back to basics any way that I can. My three children used be so hooked on TV, video games, computers, iphones and ipads. And while they still like those things, they now spend just as much time outside as they do inside. I hope by learning to raise chickens and rabbits, growing gardens, raising goats and riding horses and spending more time outdoors in general, my children will learn to love and appreciate a simpler way of life. I knew nothing about homesteading when I started this journey but I have learned so much and love every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

