Urban Basics

Getting back to basics in an urban setting

Chicken Run

Leave a comment

We are unpacked and settled into our new house! It stopped raining for two days! Yay! We broke ground on our chicken coop as soon as the rain stopped. We had to go out and buy rain boots first because it may have stopped raining but the ground is by no means dry.
The Chicken run is very basic… no real coop at all… just a chicken yard with a metal roof and fully fenced. We decided on 14X20 square feet, which is large enough to accommodate the chicks that are growing more every day. They will be big enough to be put in with the hens soon.
It took us a few days to finish but its done! We added roosting perches and nest boxes made out of Rubbermaid bins with the side cut out. We added hay to the nest boxes and put their food and water in the run. Then my husband and I ran around chasing chickens, looking ridiculous! Good thing there are no houses in site and no one can see us! The chickens were caught and taken into their new home and there they will stay for at least two weeks. Its funny how chickens tend to stay close to home even when they are let out. I like that about my hens so keeping them in their new home for two weeks will hopefully make them feel like this new coop is “home”.
Upon arrival at our new house, we put the baby chicks into the chicken coop that we brought with us, displacing the adult hens. So until we built them a new home, they roamed free. The problem with this was they liked to roam free on our deck! And anyone with chickens knows chickens poop… a lot! And I can tell you from first hand experience, they are not picky about where they do their business! Needless to say, their new chicken run couldn’t be built soon enough!

IMG_2003

IMG_2008

Author: stephdt3

My 3 children and I live on 14 acres in Savannah Ga. I have worked hard at turning the property into a thriving, self sufficient homestead. It has been a learning experience and a lot of hard work but its so worth it. I don't understand how our country became so consumer driven. We have lost so much of our production way of life. It is my goal to get back to basics any way that I can. My three children used be so hooked on TV, video games, computers, iphones and ipads. And while they still like those things, they now spend just as much time outside as they do inside. I hope by learning to raise chickens and rabbits, growing gardens, raising goats and riding horses and spending more time outdoors in general, my children will learn to love and appreciate a simpler way of life. I knew nothing about homesteading when I started this journey but I have learned so much and love every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

